List Headline Image
Updated by Soubin Nath on Jan 25, 2016
Headline for PADMA AWARDS 2016!!! List of 'Padma Vibhushan' Awardees 2016
Soubin Nath Soubin Nath
10 items   1 followers   0 votes   547 views

PADMA AWARDS 2016!!! List of 'Padma Vibhushan' Awardees 2016

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year. Here is the list of persons awarded with Padma Vibhushan



Shivaji Rao Gaekwad, popularly known as Rajinikanth, is one of the most popular film personalities in India. The superstar who works mostly in Tamil films has also acted in other industries including Hollywood, Hindi, Bengali. He was honoured with the Padma Bhushan in 2000.

Ramoji Rao

Ramoji Rao is a media entrepreneur. He is the owner of Ramoji Group, the world's largest film production facility Ramoji Film City and film production company Ushakiran Movies.


Former J&K Governor Jagmohan is a recipient of the Padma Shri in 1971 and the Padma Bhushan in 1977. A retired civil servant, he is also a published author.

Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

Ravi Shankar, populary known as Shri Shri Ravi Shankar, is the founder of the Art Of Living Foundation.He is a spiritual leader and founder of the Art of Living Foundation created in 1981, which aims to relieve individual stress, societal problems, and violence.

Yamini Krishnamurthy

She is a renowned Bharathanatyam and Kuchipudi dancer.Yamini Krishnamurthy was born in Madanapalli, Chittoor District, Andhra Pradesh.Yamini Krishnamurthy debuted in 1957 in Madras. She has the honor of being Asthana Nartaki (resident dancer) of the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam. Some critics have observed that Yamini’s dancing reflects rhythm personified.

Girija Devi

Girija Devi (born May 8, 1929) is an Indian classical singer of the Banaras gharana. She performs classical and light classical music and has helped elevate the profile of thumri.

V. K. Aatre

Dr. Vasudev Kalkunte Aatre (born 1939) is an Indian Scientist and former head of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), India's premier Defence R&D Organization. In that capacity, he also served as the Scientific Advisor to the Defence Minister (Raksha Mantri). He is an awardee of the Padma Bhushan award.

Dhirubhai Ambani

The late business tycoon was the founder of Reliance Industries.Dhirajlal Hirachand "Dhirubhai" Ambani (28 December 1932 – 6 July 2002) was an Indian business tycoon who founded Reliance Industries in Bombay with his cousin. He had been figured in the The Sunday Times top 50 businessmen in Asia

Avinash Dixit

Avinash Kamalakar Dixit (born August 6, 1944 in Bombay, India) is an Indian-American economist. He is currently John J. F. Sherrerd '52 University Professor of Economics Emeritus at Princeton University, Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Economics at Lingnan University (Hong Kong) and Senior Research Fellow at Nuffield College, Oxford.

V Shanta

Dr.V. Shanta is a prominent Oncologist and chairperson of Adyar Cancer Institute, Chennai. She is also a Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan recipient.She has been associated with Adyar Cancer Institute since 1955, and has held several key positions, including its Director between 1980-1997. She is a member of the World Health Organisation's Advisory Committee on Health and several other national and international committees on health and medicine.