List Headline Image
Updated by Soubin Nath on Aug 26, 2015
Headline for List of Indian Sahitya Akademi Award Winners From Malayalam Literature
Soubin Nath Soubin Nath
11 items   1 followers   0 votes   2.66k views

List of Indian Sahitya Akademi Award Winners From Malayalam Literature

Sahitya Akademi Award is given each year, since 1955, by Sahitya Akademi (India's National Academy of Letters), to Indian writers for their outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the 24 major Indian languages. The list of Malayalam language writers who have won the award is given below (Last 10 Years).


2014 Subhash Chandran

Book : Manushyanu Oru Aamukham
Born in 1972 at Kadungallor, a real bucolic setting near Alwaye which forms the plot for his first novel Manushyanu Oru Aamukham, Mr Subhash Chandran spent his salad days at St.Alberts College, Maharajas College, Bharathiya Vidya Bhavan and Law College. Being a First Rank Post Graduate in Malayalam Literature, from Maharajas College, Ernakulam where he studied with Scholorship from MG University, he joined Law College to pursue studies there, but discontinued to accept the job as a Proof Reader in Mathrubhumi Daily.

2013 M. N. Paloor

Book : Kathayillathavante Katha
Paloor Madhavan Namboothiri commonly known as M. N. Paloor (Malayalam: എം.എൻ. പാലൂർ), is a Malayalam-language poet from Kerala, India.[1][2] He is one of the early modernist poets in Malayalam and is a recipient of the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award, the state's highest literary honour in 1983 for his collection Kalikalam. He also received the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award for his autobiography Kathayillathavante Katha in 2013.

2012 K. Satchidanandan

Book : Marannu Vecha Vasthukkal
K. Sachidanandan (Malayalam: കെ സചചിദാനനദൻ) is a Indian poet and critic writing in Malayalam and English. A pioneer of modern poetry in Malayalam, a bilingual critic , playwright, editor, literary columnist and translator, he is the former Editor of Indian Literature journal and the former Secretary of Sahitya Akademi.

2011 M.K. Sanu

Book : Ekantha Veedhiyile Avadhoothan
M. K. Sanu is a protean personality who has enriched Malayalam Literature through his versatile writings. He is a retired professor, critic, Biographer, editor, translator, journalist, orator, social activist and humanist.

2010 M.P. Veerendra Kumar

Book : Hymavathabhoovil
M. P. Veerendra Kumaris an Indian author of about a dozen titles in Malayalam. One of his works 'Ramante Dukham' has gone into 18 re-prints. 'Amazonum Kure Vyakulathakalum' has won the Sahitya Academy Award. His recent work Hymavatha bhoovil won many awards including the prestigious Vayalar award

2009 U. A. Khader

Book : Thrikottoor Peruma
U. A. Khader is an Indian author. He has written about fifty works in Malayalam, which include novels, novellas, short-stories, travelogues and non-fiction. His works have been translated to various languages including English, Hindi and Kannada.

2008 K. P. Appan

Book : Madhuram Ninte Jeevitham
Karthikayil Padmanabhan Appan (August 25, 1936 – December 14, 2008), better known as K. P. Appan, was a renowned literary critic in Malayalam. Born in Alappuzha (Alleppey), Kerala, Appan worked as a Professor of Malayalam literature at S N College, Kollam, Kerala.In 2008, K. P. Appan won the Kendra Sahithya Academy Award for his collection of essays in Malayalam, Madhuram Ninte Jeevitham

2007 Sethu

Book : Adayalangal
A. Sethumadhavan, popularly known as Sethu, is a Malayalam fictional writer. He has published more than 30 books

2006 M. Sukumaran

Book : chuvanna chihnangal
M. Sukumaran (born 1943) is an author and short story writer in Malayalam. He was born at Chittur in Palakkad District, Kerala. Won the Kerala Sahithya Academy award in 1976 for his book Marichittillathavarude Smarakangal.

2005 Kakkanadan

Book : Jappana Pukayila
George Varghese Kakkanadan (Malayalam: ജോരജജ വരഗഗീസ കാകകനാടന; (23 April 1935 – 19 October 2011[1]), commonly known as Kakkanadan, was a Malayalam language short story writer and novelist from Kerala state, South India. He is often credited with laying the foundation of modernism in Malayalam literature.

2004 Paul Zacharia

Book : Zachariyayute Kathakal
Paul Zacharia (born 1945) is a Malayalam short story writer, novelist and essayist. Born in Urulikkunnam in Kottayam district in Kerala, India, Zacharia lives in Trivandrum.