List Headline Image
Updated by Soubin Nath on Apr 19, 2020
Headline for Contemporary Indian English Writers
Soubin Nath Soubin Nath
10 items   1 followers   15 votes   5.04k views

Contemporary Indian English Writers

There are so many influential Indo-Anglian Writers in India who have acclaimed world wide attention by their creations. These are some of them..


Vikram Seth

Vikram Seth (born on 20 June 1952) is an Indian novelist and poet. He has written several novels and poetry books. He has received several awards including Padma Shri, Pravasi Bharatiya Samman, WH Smith Literary Award and Crossword Book Award.

Arundhati Roy

Suzanna Arundhati Roy (born 24 November 1961) is an Indian author and political activist who is best known for the 1998 Man Booker Prize for Fiction-winning novel The God of Small Things (1997) and for her involvement in human rights and environmental causes.

Rohinton Mistry

Rohinton Mistry (born 3 July 1952) is an Indian-born Canadian who writes in English. Mistry is of Indian origin, originally from Mumbai, and currently resides in Brampton, Ontario, Canada. He practises Zoroastrianism and belongs to the Parsi community. Mistry is a Neustadt International Prize for Literature laureate (2012).

Amitav Ghosh

Amitav Ghosh (born 11 July 1956), is a Bengali Indian author best known for his work in English fiction.

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri ( born on July 11, 1967) is an Indian American author. Lahiri's debut short story collection, Interpreter of Maladies (1999), won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and her first novel, The Namesake (2003), was adapted into the popular film of the same name.

Aravind Adiga

Aravind Adiga (born 23 October 1974) is an Indian-Australian writer and journalist. His debut novel, The White Tiger , won the 2008 Man Booker Prize.


Chetan Bhagat

Chetan Bhagat

Chetan Bhagat ( born 22 April 1974) is an Indian author, columnist, screenwriter and speaker. Bhagat is the author of bestselling novels. Bhagat writes op-ed columns for popular English and Hindi newspapers, including The Times of India and Dainik Bhaskar, focusing on youth, career and issues based on national development. In 2008, The New York Times cited Bhagat as "the biggest selling English language novelist in India’s history".

Kiran Desai

Kiran Desai (born 3 September 1971) is an Indian author.
Her novel The Inheritance of Loss won the 2006 Man Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Fiction Award.

Anita Nair

Anita Nair (born January 26, 1966) is an Indian English-language writer.
The Better Man (2000)
Ladies Coupé (2001)
Mistress (2005)
Lessons In Forgetting (2010)
Cut Like Wound (2012)
Idris Keeper Of The Light (2014)

Vikas Swarup

Vikas Swarup(born 1963) is an Indian novelist and diplomat who has served in Turkey, the United States, Ethiopia, the United Kingdom, South Africa and Japan, best known for his novels Q & A, Six Suspects and The Accidental Apprentice.