List Headline Image
Updated by Susan Stephenson on Jun 19, 2020
Headline for App Reviews and Articles, July-September 2014
 REPORT
9 items   5 followers   1 votes   3.28k views

App Reviews and Articles, July-September 2014

Here are my children's app reviews between July and September 2014 at www.thebookchook.com , plus collections of earlier educational app reviews .

Source: http://www

Children's iPad App, ToonToolKit

My current favourite app for creating digital stories is ToonToolKit. It took me a little while to warm up to ToonToolkit as it has quite a lot of detail, but after a couple of tries, everything clicked for me. It's a great way for kids and teachers to tell a digital story.

Children's iPad App and Giveaway, Avokiddo ABC Ride

Avokiddo's ABC Ride is an excellent app for parents and teachers who want to immerse kids in games that will help them learn letters and the sounds they make.

Children's iPad App, Shadow Puppet

I love apps that we can use straight “out of the box.” With Shadow Puppet, you hit the ground running. It takes seconds to grab images and record behind them. For educators and parents, this means Shadow Puppet is a really useful tool for kids. In the latest version, 2.0, users can include video clips up to 30 seconds. I like too that there’s a feature to have both background music AND voice narration. There are text overlays and other bling, but the best feature of all is that the free version is great, and you only pay to get extra features like being able to add more items to your video or to remove the watermark. Read more: http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/08/childrens-ipad-app-shadow-puppet.html

Children's iPad App, Curious Ruler

Children's iPad App, Curious Ruler by Susan Stephenson, www.thebookchook.com I've been impressed so far with Curious Hat's apps, so I jumped at the chance to check out Curious Ruler, a measuring app. From the developer: With Curious Ruler, children can explore and measure objects around them and learn about sizes, units of measure, and proportions. Read more: http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/07/childrens-ipad-app-curious-ruler.html

January-March 2014 Children's iPad App Reviews at The Book Chook

January-March 2014 Children's iPad App Reviews at The Book Chook by Susan Stephenson, www.thebookchook.com In January, I collated all my iPad app reviews for 2013 into one long post, 2013 iPad App Reviews at The Book Chook. Check them out at http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/04/january-march-2014-childrens-ipad-app.html

April - June 2014 Children's App Reviews and Articles at The Book Chook

April - June 2014 Children's App Reviews and Articles at The Book Chook by Susan Stephenson, www.thebookchook.com Earlier this year I gathered my reviews from January to March 2014 into one post for ease of browsing. Check them out at http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/07/april-june-2014-childrens-app-reviews.html

2013 iPad App Reviews at The Book Chook

Here are the children's iPad apps I reviewed in 2013. I've added a little teaser to each one, then linked to my review here at The Book Chook. Read more at http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/01/2013-ipad-app-reviews-at-book-chook.html

Children's iPad App, Wee Kids Word Games

Reviewed by Susan Stephenson, www.thebookchook.com I love to find puzzle game apps for kids. Games that sneak a little learning into kids' lives are a wonderful idea. It's also great to find apps that can be used productively in an educational setting. Wee Kids Word Games could be useful for children 5+. Read more: http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/09/childrens-ipad-app-wee-kids-word-games.html

Children's iPad App, 30 Hands

The process of creating a presentation with 30 Hands is simple. Once children draw on a slide, take a photo/video or add an image/video from the Camera Roll, they can then edit the order images are in, and record audio for each slide. The resulting creation can be added as a video to the Camera Roll. Read more: http://www.thebookchook.com/2014/09/childrens-ipad-app-30-hands.html