List Headline Image
Updated by Myra Thomas on Jan 31, 2023
Myra Thomas Myra Thomas
6 items   1 followers   0 votes   1 views

What Are the Consequences of a DUI in New York or New Jersey?

For many people, facing a DUI charge is their first introduction to the judicial system. In both New York or New Jersey, DUI charges carry steep penalties, and, as a result, if you are facing a DUI, it is important to fight your charge by all means available. This generally means hiring a lawyer to represent you.

What are the consequences of a DUI in New York or New Jersey? While the specific consequences depend on where you were arrested, the types of penalties you can face in both states include:


Jail Time

Many people are surprised to learn that they can face jail time for a first-time DUI offense. But this is the case in both New York and New Jersey. A first-time DUI in New York carries up to 15 days in jail—as long as you are charged with an “infraction” rather than a misdemeanor. If you're charged with a misdemeanor DUI, you can face up to a year in jail as a first-time offender. New Jersey’s DUI penalties include up to 30 days in jail for a first-time offense.



In New York, “infraction” DUIs carry fines of $300 to $400. Misdemeanors carry fines of $500 to $1,000 for first-time offenders. In New Jersey, first-time DUI offenders can face $200 to $400 along with state-imposed surcharges.


Driver’s License Suspension

New York law imposes a 90-day driver’s license suspension for “infraction” DUIs and up to a six-month driver’s license suspension for misdemeanor offenses. Again, these are the penalties for first-time offenders. First-time DUI offenders in New Jersey also face a six-month driver’s license suspension in most cases. Once you get your driver’s license back in New Jersey, you may have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.


Increased Insurance Premiums

In both New York and New Jersey, having a DUI on your record can increase your insurance premiums significantly. Most drivers will need to buy SR-22 insurance, and according to a recent article on, this results in an average annual premium increase of 74 percent. This alone can add thousands of dollars to the cost of a DUI.


Additional Penalties

Since New York and New Jersey’s DUI laws are different, you can face additional unique penalties in each state. If you refused the breathalyzer, if you caused an accident, if you had children in your vehicle, or if any other special circumstances are involved in your case, these could trigger additional penalties as well. In the most serious cases, DUI arrests can present the risk of several thousands of dollars in fines and several years behind bars.


Disciplinary Proceedings

If you're a licensed professional, getting a DUI—or even getting arrested for DUI—can trigger disciplinary proceedings. Depending on the facts of your case, the type of license you have and the state where you are licensed, these proceedings could lead to a reprimand, temporary suspension or permanent revocation. If you're a college student, an underage DUI can lead to disciplinary proceedings at school as well.