List Headline Image
Updated by gohonlawfirm on Aug 17, 2021
gohonlawfirm gohonlawfirm
6 items   1 followers   0 votes   1 views

Top 5 Kansas City Car Accident Laws

There are specific rules, laws, and insurance procedures that must be followed after a car accident. Read these Kansas City car accident laws!


Missouri is a Fault-Based Insurance State

Filing a claim with their own auto insurer (as long as they have collision coverage). Their insurer will then file a subrogation claim against the at-fault party’s insurer for reimbursement.


Missouri Car Insurance Requirements

$25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
$50,000 for total bodily injury or death per accident
$10,000 for property damage per accident


Comparative Negligence Law

Missouri’s rule of “pure comparative negligence.”


Accident Reporting in Missouri

You must notify law enforcement of a car accident in Kansas City if there is more than $500 in property damage to any one person.


Time Limits for Filing a Car Accident Claim in Missouri

Any party injured in a collision has up to five years to pursue a claim.

Goza & Honnold, LLC | Kansas City Personal Injury Lawyers

Injured in Kansas City? Maximize your compensation with the help of a top Kansas City personal injury lawyer. Call for a FREE consultation. (913) 451-3433