List Headline Image
Updated by Jeffrey Miller on May 31, 2013
 REPORT
14 items   1 followers   1 votes   107 views

Summer Reading List

Whether you are relaxing in the backyard, heading to the beaches or mountains, or flying off to some exotic destination, here are some of my favorite books from my author friends to enjoy this summer.

The Nations

With a compelling plot, vivid characters, realistic action, and gripping narrative, THE NATIONS is not just a thrilling saga of the American West--it is a triumph!--DWIGHT JON ZIMMERMAN, New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestselling co-author of LINCOLN'S LAST DAYS For fans of ZANE GREY, LOUIS L'AMOUR, ELMER KELTON AND LARRY McMURTRY, the western still lives.

Cherries - A Vietnam War Novel

Cherries weds a matchless sense of dramatics with the ability to tell a marvelous story. You have staged excellent, realistic action with convincing effect. Cherries has a compelling magnetic quality. --Manuscripts International, 1987As an avid reader of many historical memoirs, both fiction and autobiographical, rarely have I found one as in depth and revealing as Mr. Podlaski's work...--Bernie Weisz, Vietnam War HistorianOne 'read' will not be enough.

2

On Air

On Air

On Air: Robin Stratton: Amazon.com: Kindle Store

The Rainbird War

Alex Keto is a Bethesda, MD based author whose research about the Mau Mau Rebellion began in the Library of Congress where he read out-of-print histories, memoirs and diaries from that era, and then culminated in two trips to Kenya (2007 and 2009) to see where the rebellion by the Kikuyu people against Kenya's colonial government took place.

Sexton (Sexton Chronicles)

Sexton (Sexton Chronicles) - Kindle edition by David J. Steele. Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading Sexton (Sexton Chronicles).

Letters From Long Binh: Memoirs of a Military Policeman in Vietnam

Just another book about Vietnam? Wait; don't dismiss this memoir out of hand. Every experience is different and every soldier has both a shared and a unique vision of that experience and Randy Mixter tells an honest and humorous story of his time in Vietnam in Letters From Long Binh.

Raindrop Races

Raindrop Races - Kindle edition by Martin McMorrow. Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading Raindrop Races.

8

1961

1961

See review on Amazon page.

Ice Cream Headache

Not since Peyton Place has there been such a merciless exposé of the American experience in all its beauty, fragility, and raw brutal ugliness.

This Same Small Town In Each Of Us

Author Wanda Morrow Clevenger has an impressive writing history. As an extremely versatile writer capable of anything, she writes with keen observation, propensity and perception. With a poetic undertone, Wanda Morrow Clevenger possesses a penchant for taking the complex and distilling down the sensory details to either something pure and touching, or to sagacious, vacuum-packed wit.

11

Sad Boy

Sad Boy

Michael C. Keith is the author of over 20 books on electronic media, among them Talking Radio, Voices in the Purple Haze, Radio Cultures, Signals in the Air, and the classic textbook The Radio Station.

BlackJack Bomber: A BlackStar Ops Group Mission

This is the same book as the edition with the B-52 bomber on the cover. I polled a group of friends to see which cover I should use, and the results were about equal. I was unable to choose, since I liked both.

95 Bravo

95 Bravo: Larry Deibert: Amazon.com: Kindle Store

War Remains

"The novel unfolds through pulsating battle scenes, personal vignettes and quiet introspection, making use of jumping perspectives in order to create an intimate tale of loyalty, love and livelihood." --Korea Times -- Seoul, South KoreaWar Remains is a welcome addition to the scant literature of a war whose significance intensifies with awareness of the threat still posed by North Korea and the dangers of a second Korean War."