List Headline Image
Updated by Joanna James on Mar 10, 2020
Headline for The 7 UNESCO Cultural World Heritage Sites of Tunisia - Explore these marvels to your heart’s content!
Joanna James Joanna James
7 items   1 followers   0 votes   2 views

The 7 UNESCO Cultural World Heritage Sites of Tunisia - Explore these marvels to your heart’s content!

Tunisia is the country to have the most number of UNESCO World Heritage sites in Africa after Ethiopia. Below is the list of the 7 UNESCO Cultural World Heritage Sites of Tunisia.


Amphitheatre of El Jem

The Amphitheatre of El Jem was the first site to be added to the UNESCO Cultural World Heritage sites in the year 1979. This is the largest Amphitheatre in North Africa and it is said to have been built in the 3rd Century. The massive structure is 149 metres in length and 122 metres in width.


Archaeological Site of Carthage

The Archaeological Site of Carthage is located in the capital of Tunis and is one of the most popular UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Tunisia. Apart from being named an important cultural location, this is a popular location visited by many tourists who travel to the country. The Residence Tunis by Cenizaro Hotels & Resorts and most of the high-end hotels and resorts are located in Tunis which makes exploring the Archaeological Site of Carthage easy for tourists who stay in these hotels. The Archaeological Site of Carthage was named a UNESCO Heritage Site in 1979 and it is known to be the capital city Carthage ruled by Queen Dido.


Dougga (Thugga)

Dougga which is also known as Thugga is an ancient archaeological site located in the North of Tunisia and covers an area of about 75 hectares. The city which flourished during the Roman and Byzantine Empire was the capital of Dougga but it was rejected in the Islamic period and became deserted. The ancient ruins in the area are a testimony of more than 17 centuries of history. Dougga was inscribed to the World Heritage List in the year 1997.



Kairouan is known as the fourth holiest city in the world after Mecca, Medina, and Jerusalem. The great mosque in Kairouan is known to be the first mosque in North Africa. Guided tours can be arranged by most travel agencies that arrange tours around Tunisia attractions. It was in the year 1988 that Kairouan was named a UNESCO Cultural Heritage Site.


Medina of Sousse

Colloquially known as the' Pearl of Sahel', city of Sousse of the third-largest city in Tunisia. The coastal city is known as a significant port during the 9th century and is known as a major example of a town from the Islamic Era. The old city is a labyrinth of winding streets and was added to the list in 1988.


Medina of Tunis

Medina of Tunis is located in the capital city of Tunis and was named a UNESCO Cultural Heritage Site in the year 1979. Medina of Tunis is home to more than 7-- different monuments such as palaces, mosques, madrasa hand fountains and mausoleums which are examples of the Golden Age of Tunis which was from 12th to 16th century.


Punic Town of Kerkuane and its Necropolis

The location of this cultural heritage site is, Nabeul Governorate in Tunisia and it was inscribed to the list in 1985. The ancient town was abandoned during the First Punic war in 250 BCE and it is the only example and proof of the Phoenicio-Punic settlement. The architecture of the layout and the structures reveal a lot about the culture and time.