List Headline Image
Updated by Soubin Nath on Oct 28, 2016
Headline for NOBELS 2016!!! Winners List of Nobel Prizes 2016
Soubin Nath Soubin Nath
6 items   1 followers   0 votes   4 views

NOBELS 2016!!! Winners List of Nobel Prizes 2016

The Nobel Prizes awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Swedish Academy, the Karolinska Institutet, and the Norwegian Nobel Committee to individuals and organizations who make outstanding contributions in the fields of chemistry, physics, literature, peace, and physiology or medicine. They were established by the 1895 will of Alfred Nobel. Here is the list of Nobel Prize winners of 2016





"for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter"

David J. Thouless
David James Thouless is a British condensed-matter physicist.Thouless was educated at Winchester College and earned a Bachelor of Arts degree at Trinity Hall, Cambridge. He obtained his PhD at Cornell University.Thouless was a postdoc at the University of California, Berkeley, professor of mathematical physics at the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom from 1965-1978, and professor of Applied Science at Yale University from 1979-1980, before becoming a professor of physics at the University of Washington in Seattle in 1980.

F. Duncan M. Haldane
Frederick Duncan known as F. Duncan Haldane, is a British-American physicist who is Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics at the physics department of Princeton University, and a Distinguished Visiting Research Chairat Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.

J. Michael Kosterlitz

John Michael Kosterlitz is a British-American professor of physics at Brown University and the son of biochemist Hans Kosterlitz. He received his B.A. degree, subsequently promoted to an M.A. degree, at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge. In 1969, he earned a D.Phil. degree at Brasenose College, Oxford.Haldane worked as a physicist at Institut Laue–Langevin in France between 1977 and 1981, before joining the University of Southern California.




"for the design and synthesis of molecular machines"

Jean-Pierre Sauvage

Jean-Pierre Sauvage is a French coordination chemist working at Strasbourg University. He has specialized in supramolecular chemistry.

Sir James Fraser Stoddart

Sir James Fraser Stoddart is a British-American who is Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry and head the Stoddart Mechanostereochemistry Group in the Department of Chemistry at Northwestern University in the United States. He works in the area of supramolecular chemistry and nanotechnology. Stoddart has developed highly efficient syntheses of mechanically-interlocked molecular architectures such as molecular Borromean rings, catenanes and rotaxanes utilizing molecular recognition and molecular self-assembly processes.

Bernard L. Feringa
Bernard Lucas "Ben" Feringa is a Dutch synthetic organic chemist, specializing in molecular nanotechnology and homogenous catalysis. He is the Jacobus van 't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences at the Stratingh Institute for Chemistry, University of Groningen, Netherlands, and an Academy Professor and Chair of Board of the Science Division of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences.


Physiology or Medicine

Physiology or Medicine

"for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy"

Yoshinori Ohsumi
Yoshinori Ohsumi is a Japanese cell biologist specializing in autophagy, the process that cells use to destroy and recycle cellular components. Ohsumi is a professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology's Institute of Innovative Research. He received the Kyoto Prize for Basic Science in 2012




"for having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition"

Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan is an American songwriter, singer, artist, and writer. He has been influential in popular music and culture for more than five decades. Much of his most celebrated work dates from the 1960s when his songs chronicled social unrest. Early songs such as "Blowin' in the Wind" and "The Times They Are a-Changin'" became anthems for the American civil rights and anti-war movements. Leaving behind his initial base in the American folk music revival, his six-minute single "Like a Rolling Stone", recorded in 1965, enlarged the range of popular music.




"for his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end"

Juan Manuel Santos
Juan Manuel Santos Calderón is the 32nd and current President of Colombia.
An economist by profession and a journalist by trade, Santos is a member of the wealthy and influential Santos family, who from 1913 to 2007 were the majority shareholders of the newspaper El Tiempo until its sale to Planeta DeAgostini in 2007. Shortly after graduating from the University of Kansas, he joined the National Federation of Coffee Growers of Colombia as an economic advisor and delegate to the International Coffee Organization in London, where he also attended the London School of Economics. In 1981, he was appointed deputy director of El Tiempo newspaper, becoming its director two years later. Santos earned a mid-career/master's in public administration in 1981 from Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) and was a 1988 Nieman Fellow for his award-winning work as a columnist and reporter. Santos was a Fulbright visiting fellow at Fletcher at Tufts University in 1981.




"for their contributions to contract theory"

Oliver Hart
Oliver Simon D'Arcy Hart is a British-born American economist and the Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics at Harvard University. Together with Bengt R. Holmström. Hart earned his BA in mathematics at King's College, Cambridge, in 1969 (where his contemporaries included the former Bank of England Governor Mervyn King), his MA in economics at the University of Warwick in 1972, and his PhD in economics at Princeton University in 1974. Hart is an expert on contract theory, theory of the firm, corporate finance, and law and economics. His research centers on the roles that ownership structure and contractual arrangements play in the governance and boundaries of corporations. He has used his theoretical work on firms in two legal cases as a government expert (Black and Decker v. U.S.A. and WFC Holdings Corp. (Wells Fargo) v. U.S.A.).

Bengt Holmström
Bengt Robert Holmström is a Finnish economist who is currently Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Holmström was born in Helsinki, Finland, and belongs to the Swedish speaking minority of Finland. He received his B.S. in mathematics and science from the University of Helsinki, a Master of Science degree in Operations Research from Stanford University in 1975, and his Ph.D. from the Graduate School of Business at Stanford. He has been on the faculty of M.I.T. since 1994.

  • Born and brought up in Kerala, India. Now in Mumbai, India doing first year of my Masters in Film Studies (M.A)..

  • Tools