List Headline Image
Updated by Amy McMillan on Jul 06, 2016
Headline for If You love The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games, Try One of These Great Action / Adventure Reads (Grade 7 and Up!)
 REPORT
Amy McMillan Amy McMillan
Owner
10 items   2 followers   1 votes   26 views

If You love The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games, Try One of These Great Action / Adventure Reads (Grade 7 and Up!)

Are you looking for an action-filled, can't-seem-to-put-it-down, fast-paced read? Get out your next reads list because you will LOVE these books. If you know of any great books to add, press the Add to the list button below, sign in to List.ly and give your recommendation. One easy way to add a book is with the Amazon link. Type your own description with the highlights (no spoilers!).

The Ruins of Gorlan (The Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1)

The Ruins of Gorlan (The Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1) by John Flanagan tells the story of Will, a 15-year-old boy who, as the ranger's apprentice, finds out he will become a protector of the realm. His path is one of intense training, battles, and mystical feats, all leading to a final confrontation with a dark force intent on destroying his world.

Stormbreaker (Alex Rider)

The first book in the Alex Rider series, Stormbreaker is a spy-thriller in which 14-year-old Alex is recruited to take his uncle's place as a top-secret, undercover spy for the British government. Equipped with specialized, high-tech gadgets and special training, Alex takes over his uncle's mission.

Found (The Missing, Book 1)

Book 1 of The Missing series by Margaret Peterson Haddix, Found starts the adventure with the unusual landing of a plane filled with 36 babies, and no one else. Those babies are now thirteen years old and living with adopted families. They know nothing of their past until...

4

Legend

Legend

Legend by Marie Lu is an adventure told from two perspectives: June, born into society's elite upper class and training for the military and Day, born poor and now stamped as a criminal rebel. Little do they know that they will meet and find they have to work together to in order to survive and stop the country's evil, power-hungry factions.

Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

Set in a medieval universe populated with rodents instead of humans, Redwall takes readers on an adventure on par with The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Will the mice of Redwall Abbey be able to survive the coming battle against the rats? Will mouse apprentice Matthias be able to lead them to victory?

Artemis Fowl Paperback

Artemis Fowl is not your average hero: He is evil. That's right, evil. He's also a criminal. And did I mention he is a super-genius? And outrageously wealthy? Read this book if you want to see how Artemis uses all of this talent, technology and riches to fight against an armed fairies who are tougher than you might expect.

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Graphic Novels)

The tagline on Ms. Marvel Volume 1's cover says, "This may be the most important comic published in 2104." Why, you ask? Kamala Kahn, a regular teen-age girl, has grown up sheltered by a loving family who only wants her to be good and stay out of trouble. The only problem is Kamala has super powers. She fights evil, but she still has to sneak out at night, so her parents won't know she is breaking curfew!

The 5th Wave: The First Book of the 5th Wave Series Paperback – February 10, 2015

The book starts in the middle of a war. It is the 5th of several deadly, horrifying waves of alien invasions. Now, the enemy looks just like us. How do you know who you can trust?

Delirium (Delirium Trilogy)

What would you do if you could not love? What would you do if no one was allowed to love? This is the question Oliver asks in her dystopian novel about a world where all citizens get the Cure, a procedure which keeps them rational and logical. And unfeeling.

10

Gone

Gone

In the world of Michael Grant's Gone, everyone has disappeared. Well, ever except the young. All of a sudden, they are completely on their own, and the world is full of predators, bullies, and others who will take what little they have left.